Amanda Cross

Amanda Cross‘s Kate Fansler mysteries feel surprisingly contemporary 50 years later. Plus ca change…

Camille Minichino

Camille Minichino grew up about a mile from Revere Beach, Massachusetts, the setting for her Periodic Table Mysteries. Like her amateur sleuth, Gloria Lamerino, she has a Ph.D. in physics and has had a long career in research and teaching.

Carol Goodman

Carol Goodman is the author of twenty novels, including The Seduction of Water, which won the 2003 Hammett Prize.

Carole Shmurak

Dr. Carole B. Shmurak is the author of eleven books, including Deadmistress, her first mystery featuring professor/sleuth Susan Lombardi.

Christa Nardi

Like her protagonist, Sheridan Hendley, Christa Nardi has a background is in higher education and psychology.  Dr. Hendley teaches at the fictional Cold Creek College. 

Doomsday Book

Connie Willis

Connie Willis has won eleven Hugo Awards and seven Nebula Awards. She was inducted by the Science Fiction Hall of Fame in 2009. The Science Fiction Writers of America named her its 28th SFWA Grand Master in 2011.

Semester of our Discontent

Cynthia Kuhn

Cynthia Kuhn writes the Lila Maclean Academic Mystery series.

Debra H. Goldstein

In addition to serving on Sisters in Crime’s national board, she is president of its largest chapter, the Guppies, and is Vice-President of the Southeast Region of Mystery Writers of America.

Frankie Bow

Frankie Bow is the author of the Professor Molly Mysteries set in Mahina, Hawaii.

Deaths Favorite Child

Frankie Y. Bailey

Frankie Y. Bailey is a mystery writer and a professor of criminal justice in the School of Criminal Justice at the University at Albany.

James J. Cudney

James J. Cudney is a novelist, genealogist, cook, and prolific reviewer, with over 500 book reviews completed. Academic Curveball is the first of the Braxton Campus mysteries.

Joanne Dobson

Joanne Dobson is the author of the Professor Karen Pelletier mystery series.

Shadow Campus by Kathleen Reardon

Kathleen Kelley Reardon

The university setting of Dr. Kathleen Kelley Reardon’s Shadow Campus is fictional, but all too recognizable. Forbes called Shadow Campus a “fast-paced” and “masterful debut novel.”

Kelly Brakenhoff

The academic personalities are so recognizable that you have to laugh (or cringe).

Lev Raphael

In addition to writing books, Lev Raphael reviews them. He also blogs about travel, art, and movies.

Lori Rader-Day

Lori Rader-Day is the author of Under a Dark Sky, The Day I Died, Little Pretty Things, and The Black Hour. She is the recipient of the 2018 Anthony Award for Best Paperback Original, the 2016 Simon and Schuster Mary Higgins Clark Award, and the 2015 Anthony Award for Best First Novel. 

Lori Robbins

Brooklyn-born Lori Robbins writes the Master Class Mystery Series.

Maggie Barbieri

Maggie Barbieri is the author of the Murder 101 series featuring English professor Alison Bergeron.

Mary Angela

Mary Angela is the author of the Professor Prather academic mystery series.

Bodies in a Bookshop

R.T. Campbell

“The trouble with bookshops is that they are as bad as pubs. You start at one and then you drift to another, and before you know where you are you are on a gigantic book-binge.”